Talk to an agent: (480) 788-1912
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Nine Answers About Phoenix Auto Insurance and DMV Laws

Like most other states in the USA, Arizona makes auto insurance as a necessity enforced and regulated by law too. The Motor Vehicle Department of Arizona, commonly known as MVD, looks into the matters concerning automobiles and traffic. Each city has its very own DMV to look into the matters within its limits and report to the MVD.

1. What is meant by minimum liability? Is it mandatory?

Minimum liability is the least amount every car owner and driver must possess as a sign of financial responsibility. In Arizona, all the vehicles operating on the roads must possess coverage not less than the minimum liability coverage. The amounts are stated below.

Bodily injury coverage- You need to have $15,000 for a single person and $30,000 for each accident. It covers for the injuries you may have caused in an at fault accident.

Property Damage- You need to attain this coverage to pay for the damages of property in an at fault accident. It is worth not less than $10,000.

2. Do I face penalties, if I drive without insurance or sufficient documents proving that my vehicle is insured?

CarInsuranceInPhoenixIn Arizona, no driver must drive without auto insurance. In fact, you need to get insurance immediately after you buy a car. If you are pulled over on the roads of Phoenix by a law enforcement personnel, you must show sufficient proof that your car is insured. If you are unable to produce valid documents of proof, then you may have to end up paying a hefty fine. Also, you stand the risk of getting your driving license and/or your vehicle registration suspended and necessary fees need to be paid for their restoration. Next, you need to obtain an SR22 form from the company providing you auto insurance in Phoenix. It is not only expensive but you need to carry it for three years.

3. What should I do if my auto insurance policy in Phoenix gets terminated?

When your car insurance is cancelled or terminated, your insurance company immediately notifies the Motor Vehicle Department or the MVD of Arizona about it. In Phoenix, it is done via the Phoenix DMV. The MVD then sends you a notice requesting you to verify and update the current status of your insurance.

4. On what grounds can my car registration be suspended?

There are a number of reasons for which your Phoenix car insurance can be suspended. They are as follows.

•             If you are unable to show satisfactory proofs of insurance to the Phoenix DMV.

•             If you or your insurance company or the system makes an error while entering your Vehicle Identification Number or VIN number.

•             When your information was received by the Arizona MVD, a new vehicle may not have been on the list.

•             If your auto insurance coverage is not renewed before validity and you do not have a new insurance.

•             An old accident file is opened an investigation is on.

5. What should I do to clear a suspended registration?

There are two ways you can clear a suspended registration. You can provide sufficient information proving that you had at least the minimum liability coverage as recognized by the Arizonan law at the time of the suspension of your registration. If you are unable to do that, you can pay a reinstatement fee of $50 along with a recent proof of Phoenix car insurance. Remember, that payment should be made via cash, money order or cashier’s check. Credit cards are also accepted by most offices but they do not accept personal checks. Also, it cannot be done via mail.

6. How much time will it take to reinstate my registration after I provide proof of insurance?

If the proof you provide are reviewed as per the norms of the MVD and met all its requirements then your registration will be immediately restored. If not, be assured that it will be done within 24 hours. Do remember to inform the MVD representative with whom you have spoken regarding this. It will not only strengthen your point but also speed up the process.

7. What should I do if I get a notice of registration suspension even after providing sufficient proof of insurance?

If such thing happens, it is probably due to the following reasons.

•             An out-of-state insurance proof may have been produced instead of an Arizonan one.

•             The time of suspension may not be covered by the insurance by the insurance information you have submitted.

•             The VIN number, and/or other information provided about the car may have been incorrect.

•             The information sent by you might not have reached them.

•             Documents must have been mixed up, while being mailed.

If this happens, immediately contact the Motor Vehicle department of Phoenix and inform them about the matter to avoid further problems.

8. I have a vehicle which is not being used and will not be used for a significant span of time. Can I avoid spending on the insurance of such a car?

If you have car which is not being driven or used, then you can temporarily de-insure it.

9. What is meant by de-insurance and how can it be done?

There is an exception to the compulsory requirement of auto insurance as stated by the laws of Arizona. It is called de-insurance. Via this process, you may choose not to maintain insurance on your car for a certain period of time. This can be done on vehicles which are not being driven and will not be used in the immediate future. However, you need to keep your de-insurance proof handy. Your license or registration will not be suspended as long as you are not driving a de-insured car on the roads.

To de-insure your car, all you need to do is fill out a form and submit it. The information will be updated within two days of submission of the form.

By being aware of these facts, it will be easier for you to stay out of trouble with the Department of Motor Vehicles of Phoenix. By entering your zip, you get to compare quotes for free!